Brenda's Staff Picks

Brenda Jordan at Murder By The Book since 2009

Brenda's "Claim to Fame" is she is McKenna's mother. Some of Brenda's favorite authors: Martin Walker, Alan Bradley, Kate Morton, Jacqueline Winspear, Louise Penny, Daniel Silva, Charles Todd, Anne Zouroudi, and Ariana Franklin

Brenda's 2016 Top Ten:

1.  A Gentleman In Moscow by Amor Towles
2.  Black Water Lilies by Michel Bussi
3.  The Last Painting of Sara DeVos by Dominic Smith
4.  Black Widow by Daniel Silva
5.  Fatal Pursuit by Martin Walker
6.  Thrice the Brinded Cat Hath Mew'd by Alan Bradley
7.  What We Become by Arturo Perez-Reverte
8.  The House Between Tides by Sarah Maine
9.  The Woman In Blue by Elly Griffiths
10. Daisy In Chains by Sharon Bolton

Find of the Year:  Fred Vargas series

The Address Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781524741990
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dutton Books - August 1st, 2017

THE NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Fiona Davis, author of The Dollhouse, returns with a compelling novel about the thin lines between love and loss, success and ruin, passion and madness, all hidden behind the walls of The Dakota--New York City's most famous residence.


Dead Woman Walking Cover Image
$25.99
ISBN: 9781250103444
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - September 5th, 2017

Sharon Bolton's latest book- Dead Woman Walking - is an action-packed thriller. Known for her twists and turns, Bolton doesn't disappoint with this one. An early morning hot air balloon ride is Jessica's birthday surprise for her sister. But as the balloon floats above the desolate Scottish border, 12 passengers see below them a young woman running from a man. He not only catches her, but bashes her head with a rock. Then, he hears and sees the balloon...and realizes all eyes are on him. What a beginning! Pick up a copy. Fast and furious, you won't want to put this one down! - Brenda


The Sorbonne Affair: A Hugo Marston Novel Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781633882614
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Seventh Street Books - August 22nd, 2017

Someone is spying on American author Helen Hancock. While in Paris to conduct research and teach a small class of writers, she discovers a spy camera hidden in her room at the Sorbonne Hotel. She notifies the US Embassy, and former FBI profiler Hugo Marston is dispatched to investigate.


Staff Pick Logo
The Child Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781101990483
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley Books - June 27th, 2017

For readers of The Widow last year, Barton has given us The Child this year. Set in London, a baby's skeleton is unearthed as an old house is being demolished.  Could it be a remains of a baby kidnapped from a hospital maternity ward in the 70's?  Kate Waters, a local journalist, knows there's a story to be uncovered, and she won't give up until the truth is revealed. Told in four voices, Barton expertly weaves the characters together and delivers another entertaining novel. Well done! - Brenda


Weycombe: A Novel of Suspense Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780738754260
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Midnight Ink - October 8th, 2017

To those on the outside, Weycombe is perfect. For those on the inside, the cost of perfection is deadly.