McKenna's Staff Picks

McKenna Jordan, Store Owner at Murder By The Book since 2003

McKenna has her Bachelor's Degree in English and a Master's in Violin Performance from University of Houston. She's owned Murder By The Book since January 2009.

Some of McKenna's favorite authors; Megan Abbott, Cara Black, Ken Bruen, Kerry Greenwood, Charlaine Harris, Carolyn Haines, Peter Lovesey, Daniel Silva, Jacqueline Winspear.

McKenna's 2017 Top 10 

1. The Child Finder by Rene Denfeld
2. He Said, She Said by Erin Kelly
3. Party Girls Die in Pearls by Plum Sykes
4. The Last Place You Look by Kristen Lepionka
5. The Vanishing Season by Joanna Schaffhausen (out 12/5)
6. The Address by Fiona Davis 
7. Swiss Vendetta by Tracee De Hahn  (signing 2/20)
8. Final Girls by Riley Sager 
9. The Marsh King's Daughter by Karen Dionne 
10. Mad by Chloe Esposito

Highly recommended collections:  
both edited by Lawrence Block

In Sunlight and In Shadow 
Alive in Shape and Color (out 12/5)

Staff Pick Logo
Jar of Hearts Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250154194
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 12th, 2018

"Jar of Hearts grabs you by the throat! The perfect blend of riveting characters, chilling details, and gasping twists in this standout thriller will keep you frantically reading until the explosive end.” – Lisa Gardner, New York Times bestselling author of Right Behind You


Staff Pick Logo
Social Creature: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780385543521
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday - June 5th, 2018

"Social Creature is a wicked original with echoes of the greats (Patricia Highsmith, Gillian Flynn)." —Janet Maslin, The New York Times

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt, a dark, propulsive and addictive debut thriller, splashed with all the glitz and glitter of New York City.


Hangman Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781335062918
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Hanover Square Press - June 12th, 2018

An addictive debut thriller starring an FBI consultant with a peculiar taste for crime and punishment...A boy vanishes on his way home from school. His frantic mother receives a ransom call: pay or else. It's only hours before the deadline, and the police have no leads.


The Other Woman: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250191984
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Minotaur Books - August 21st, 2018

The most twisty, addictive and gripping debut thriller you'll read this year.

HE LOVES YOU: Adam adores Emily. Emily thinks Adam’s perfect, the man she thought she’d never meet.

BUT SHE LOVES YOU NOT: Lurking in the shadows is a rival, a woman who shares a deep bond with the man she loves.


Caged: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250173836
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - July 10th, 2018

FBI profiler Sayer Altair hunts a brilliant serial killer with a dangerous obsession in Caged, a gripping thriller from debut author Ellison Cooper.


Ten Dead Comedians: A Murder Mystery Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9781683690368
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Quirk Books - June 5th, 2018

Now in paperback, Fred Van Lente’s brilliant debut is both a savagely funny homage to the Golden Age of Mystery and a thoroughly contemporary show-business satire.


Meddling Kids: A Novel Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781101974445
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Anchor - May 29th, 2018

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“The story proves as cleverly witty as its title. It's filled with high jinks both terrorizing and hilarious.” —USA Today
 


Party Girls Die in Pearls: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062429032
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - May 8th, 2018

“A rollicking murder mystery. . . . a wildly entertaining romp. . . . Laugh? I died.”—Vogue

The New York Times bestselling author of Bergdorf Blondes takes us back to the decadent 1980s in this comic murder mystery set in the tony world of Oxford University.


Staff Pick Logo
The Last Place You Look: A Mystery (Roxane Weary #1) Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250181305
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 1st, 2018

Kristen Lepionka's 2018 Anthony Award Nominee for Best First Novel, The Last Place You Look is a head-on collision between an allegedly closed case and a tenacious, troubled private investigator who doesn’t know when to quit.