Sally's Staff Picks

Sally Woods at Murder By The Book since 2011

I read a bit of everything, so I've tried to include both old and new favorites. That said, my favorite genre is dystopian. Though,sometimes I think I read too much of it as I can get obsessed. Two of my favs are in this stack. ( I had to stop watching The Walking Dead when I started becoming too aware of my surroundings and looking for escape routes.)

Other favorite authors are Kevin Brockmeier, whose writing makes me happy, and Marianne Wiggins whose Evidence of Things Unseen is possibly my favorite book of all time.

Mystery wise, Tana French has a wonderful Irish series. I always look forward to anything by Laura Lippman and Megan Abbott. I'm trying to catch up on women crime writers from the 40's and 50's, the collection here is incredible. David Joy. His writing will stop you in your tracks with its beauty.

Sally's 2018 Top 10:

1. The Line That Held Us by David Joy
2. How It Happened by Michael Koryta
3. I'll Be Gone in the Dark by Michelle McNamara
4. A Ladder to the Sky by John Boyne
5. The Book of M by Peng Shepherd
6. Give Me Your Hand by Megan Abbott
7. Eagle and Crane by Suzanne Rindell
8. The Outsider by Stephen King
9. Sunburn by Laura Lippman
10. The Cabin at the End of the World by Paul Tremblay

Novellas!

Elevation by Stephen King
My Sister, The Sister Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite
An Elderly Lady is Up to No Good by Helene Turnsten

The Fifth Column: A Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250180001
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - September 10th, 2019

“One of the best historical thriller authors in the business... [A] stellar novel.” —Associated Press

#1 New York Times bestselling author of The One Man Andrew Gross once again delivers a tense, stirring thriller of a family torn apart set against the backdrop of a nation plunged into war.


A Cosmology of Monsters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9781524747671
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pantheon - September 17th, 2019

"If John Irving ever wrote a horror novel, it would be something like this. I loved it.” —Stephen King

Noah Turner sees monsters.

His father saw them—and built a shrine to them with The Wandering Dark, an immersive horror experience that the whole family operates.


Curious Toys Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780316485883
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mulholland Books - October 15th, 2019

An intrepid young woman stalks a murderer through turn-of-the-century Chicago in "this rich, spooky, and atmospheric thriller that will appeal to fans of Henry Darger and Erik Larson alike." (Sarah McCarry)


A Grave Talent: A Novel (A Kate Martinelli Mystery #1) Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781250046550
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Picador - January 7th, 2014

THE EDGAR AWARD-WINNING NOVEL
THE FIRST KATE MARTINELLI MYSTERY


We Were Killers Once: A Thriller (Brigid Quinn Series #4) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250074522
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - June 4th, 2019

"Former FBI agent Brigid Quinn, with her trademark toughness, raw humor, and human frailty, is back and better than ever in Masterman’s latest novel. As Quinn is drawn into an infamous cold case with a possible link to the two killers immortalized by Truman Capote’s In Cold Blood, she finds danger closing in.