The Smuggler's Daughter (Paperback)

The Smuggler's Daughter Cover Image
$16.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


'I loved this book I was hooked from the start... I devoured this.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

Only she knows the truth. Only she can save them.

1799
Emily Moon lives with her mother in an inn on a clifftop in the darkest reaches of Cornwall. After her father mysteriously disappears, her mother finds solace at the bottom of a bottle, and the only way to keep afloat is to turn a blind eye to the smugglers who send signals from the clifftops. But Emily knows that the smugglers killed her father to ensure his silence, and she will not let his murder go unpunished...

Present day
After a case ends in tragedy, police officer Phoebe Bellingham flees to Cornwall for a summer of respite. But rather than the sunny Cornwall of her dreams, she finds herself on storm-beaten cliffs, surrounded by stories of ghosts and smugglers - and the mysterious Emily Moon, who vanished without a trace over two centuries ago. As rain lashes down around her, Phoebe determines to find the truth behind the rumours - but what she uncovers will put herself in danger too...

A haunting and moving timeslip novel perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter, The Forgotten Village and The Witchfinder's Sister.

Readers LOVE The Smuggler's Daughter

'Gripping and unputdownable... A brilliantly told story and one I keep thinking about since I finished reading it.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'Creepy, atmospheric and gripping, a really great read.' NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

'Ticked all of the boxes for me... One of those books that draws you in straight away... I found it difficult to put down.' NetGalley reviewer

'Atmospheric and gothic... Gives you the odd shiver up your spine... A really enjoyable read.' NetGalley reviewer

'An intriguing story full of adventure, imaginative characters, history, and beautiful Cornwall scenes.' NetGalley reviewer

'I could literally hear and smell the waves crashing on the rocks... Kept me gripped throughout... Twists along the way.' Yeah Lifestyle

About the Author


Kerry Barrett was a bookworm from a very early age and did a degree in English Literature, then trained as a journalist, writing about everything from pub grub to EastEnders. Her first novel, Bewitched, Bothered and Bewildered, took six years to finish and was mostly written in longhand on her commute to work, giving her a very good reason to buy beautiful notebooks. Kerry lives in London with her husband and two sons, and Noel Streatfeild's Ballet Shoes is still her favourite novel.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780008430160
ISBN-10: 0008430160
Publisher: HQ Digital
Publication Date: April 6th, 2021
Pages: 384
Language: English