Cindy's Staff Picks

Cindy Burnett at Murder By The Book since 2018

My reading tastes span a wide range of genres: mysteries, historical fiction, literary fiction, memoirs, and engaging non-fiction. I love almost anything related to art, France, New York City, Golden Age Hollywood, the Gilded Age, Texas and World War 2. I enjoy C.J. Box’s mysteries because I always learn something fascinating about the environment or a current political issue, and I love Fiona Davis’s novels because she explores in-depth places like Grand Central Terminal and the Dakota. I will read anything written by Jacqueline Winspear, Susan Elia McNeal, Martin Walker, Michael Connelly, Kate Morton, and Elly Griffiths. They all create incredibly well-written, engaging stories.

Some of my recent non-mystery favorites have been News of the World, A Gentleman in Moscow, How to Walk Away, and Dear Fahrenheit 451. I even have a few books that I return to again and again: both Pride and Prejudice and Persuasion by Jane Austen and Robert Frost’s The Road Less Taken.

Cindy's 2018 Top 10

1. The Echo Killing by Christi Daughtery
2. Force of Nature by Jane Harper
3. Past Tense by Lee Child
4. The Woman in the Window by AJ Finn
5. Still Lives by Maria Hummel 
6. The Banker’s Wife by Cristina Alger
7. The Death of Mrs. Westaway by Ruth Ware
8. The Clockmaker’s Daughter by Kate Morton
9. Liar’s Candle by Thomas August
10. The Masterpiece by Fiona Davis

Discovery

Next Year in Havana by Chanel Cleeton
Mycroft and Sherlock by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar

Dear Mrs. Bird: A Novel Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501170072
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scribner - May 7th, 2019

This charming, irresistible debut novel set in London during World War II about a young woman who longs to be a war correspondent and inadvertently becomes a secret advice columnist is “a jaunty, heartbreaking winner” (People)—for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society and Lilac Girls.


Dragonfly Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781538732229
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - July 9th, 2019

From the New York Times bestselling author of Roses comes a gripping new novel about five young spies embedded among the highest Nazi ranks in occupied Paris


The Dragon Lady Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781448217267
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Bloomsbury Caravel - August 13th, 2019

'A daring blend of romance, crime and history, and an intelligent exposé of the inherent injustice and consequences of all forms of oppression' Tsitsi Dangarembga, Nervous Conditions


Lady in the Lake: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780062390011
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - July 23rd, 2019

A New York Times Bestseller!


Miami Midnight (Pete Fernandez #5) Cover Image
Email or call 713-524-8597 for price
ISBN: 9781947993594
Availability: Backordered
Published: Polis Books - August 13th, 2019

THE THRILLING FINAL CHAPTER IN ALEX SEGURA'S ACCLAIMED PETE FERNANDEZ SERIES A year has passed since Pete Fernandez's latest, closest brush with death. After months of recovery, the newly sober Pete has managed to rebuild his life, contentedly running a small Miami bookstore and steering clear of the dangers of private eye work.


A Dangerous Man (An Elvis Cole and Joe Pike Novel #18) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525535683
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - August 6th, 2019

A brilliant new crime novel from the beloved, bestselling, and award-winning master of the genre--and Joe Pike's most perilous case to date.