Staff Picks

Want to know that the MBTB staff is reading and loving?  These are some titles that are loved by just about everyone at the store.  If you'd like to see staff picks for each member of the staff, click on the name of the staff member below.

McKenna Jordan

Brenda Jordan

John McDougall

Sally Woods

Cindy Burnett

Rebecca Minnock

Christina Coward

2020 was an unusual year for us just like everyone else, and our best-seller list is not exempt. Normally our bestseller list is hugely skewed to represent event sales. However, this year, it's more about the books that we loved to hand-sell purely for reading. 

Here are our top 10 favorite hardcovers and 5 favorite paperbacks to hand-sell (combined and in no particular order) 

 

Staff Pick Badge
Eight Perfect Murders: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062838209
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow - March 3rd, 2020

A Kirkus Best Fiction Book of 2020

“Swanson rips us from one startling plot twist to the next… A true tour de force.” —Lisa Gardner

"Fiendish good fun." —Anthony Horowitz


The Woman in the Mirror: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250230058
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - March 17th, 2020

Rebecca James unveils a chilling modern gothic novel of a family consumed by the shadows and secrets of its past in The Woman in the Mirror.


Staff Pick Badge
Firewatching (A Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler Novel #1) Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780525542025
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - February 25th, 2020

"A pitch-perfect blend of the best of the old and the best of the new--all the traditional strengths and charms are here, with a fresh and relevant twenty first-century edge. I loved it."--Lee Child


Blacktop Wasteland: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250252685
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - July 14th, 2020

A New York Times Notable Books of 2020

“I loved Blacktop Wasteland...[A] fast-paced, bareknuckle thriller.” -Stephen King

"One of the year's strongest novels. Cosby invests Blacktop Wasteland with emotion while delivering a solid thriller." -Sun Sentinel


The Thursday Murder Club: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781984880963
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Pamela Dorman Books - September 22nd, 2020

"A little beacon of pleasure in the midst of the gloom...SUCH FUN!"
--Kate Atkinson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Big Sky

Amazon Best Mystery Thriller Suspense 2020

Four septuagenarians with a few tricks up their sleeves
A female cop with her first big case
A brutal murder
Welcome to...
THE THURSDAY MURDER CLUB


Staff Pick Badge
The Jane Austen Society: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250248732
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - May 26th, 2020

* INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER *

"This novel delivers sweet, smart escapism."
People


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250217288
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: Tor Books - March 17th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER!
An Indie Next Pick!
One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"
One of Book Riot’s “20 Must-Read Feel-Good Fantasies”


Staff Pick Badge
Murder in Chianti (A Tuscan Mystery #1) Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781641291798
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Crime - July 7th, 2020

Set in the heart of Tuscan wine country, Camilla Trinchieri's new mystery introduces Nico Doyle, a former NYPD homicide detective who's just looking for space to grieve when he finds himself pulled into a local murder investigation.


And Now She's Gone: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250753175
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge Books - September 22nd, 2020

“Sharp, witty and perfectly paced, And Now She’s Gone is one hell of a read!” —Wendy Walker, bestselling author of The Night Before

Isabel Lincoln is gone.

But is she missing?


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780765387561
Availability: Able to Backorder
Published: Tor Books - October 6th, 2020

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA TODAY BESTSELLER
NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER
THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER
#1 Indie Next PickOctober 2020

Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine


The Stranger Diaries Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780358117865
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - October 1st, 2019

International Bestseller

Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel

"This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end."
People

Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern Gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House.


Murder Once Removed (Ancestry Detective #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250252340
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 28th, 2020

S.C. Perkins' Murder Once Removed is the captivating first mystery in the Ancestry Detective series, in which Texas genealogist Lucy Lancaster uses her skills to solve murders in both the past and present.


Staff Pick Badge
Death in Provence: A Penelope Kite Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062869869
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harper Paperbacks - February 25th, 2020

It’s love at first sight when Penelope Kite sees Le Chant d’Eau—The Song of Water—the stone farmhouse tucked high in the hills above the Luberon valley, complete with a garden, swimming pool, and sweeping mountain vistas. For years, Penelope put her unfaithful ex-husband and her ungrateful stepchildren first.


Staff Pick Badge
City of Windows: A Novel (Lucas Page #1) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250776662
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - August 4th, 2020

"City of Windows is moving, breathtaking—a great entertainment." —The Wall Street Journal

“A tough, wise, knowing narrative voice, a great plot, a great setting, and even better characters — I loved this.” —Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author


A Deadly Inside Scoop (An Ice Cream Parlor Mystery #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593099667
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - May 12th, 2020

This book kicks off a charming cozy mystery series set in an ice cream shop—with a fabulous cast of quirky characters.