Staff Picks

Want to know that the MBTB staff is reading and loving?  These are some titles that are loved by just about everyone at the store.  If you'd like to see staff picks for each member of the staff, click on the name of the staff member below.

McKenna Jordan

Brenda Jordan

John McDougall

Sally Woods

Rebecca Minnock

 

 

Eight Perfect Murders: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062838193
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - January 26th, 2021

A Kirkus Best Fiction Book of the year

“Swanson rips us from one startling plot twist to the next… A true tour de force.” —Lisa Gardner

"Fiendish good fun." —Anthony Horowitz


Firewatching (A Detective Sergeant Adam Tyler Novel #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780525542032
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons - January 26th, 2021

"Firewatching and Nighthawking are comparable with the best of Michael Connelly’s Bosch books and James Lee Burke’s Robicheaux novels, and – naturally – Ian Rankin; but there’s an elegiac quality here that reminds me of Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie titles and the Dublin Murder Squad series by Tana French.”--AJ Finn, author of The


The Thursday Murder Club: A Novel (A Thursday Murder Club Mystery #1) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781984880987
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Penguin Books - August 3rd, 2021

A New York Times bestseller | Soon to be a major motion picture from Steven Spielberg at Amblin Entertainment

“Witty, endearing and greatly entertaining.” —Wall Street Journal
 


Staff Pick Badge
The House in the Cerulean Sea Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250217318
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Tor Books - December 29th, 2020

A NEW YORK TIMES, USA TODAY, and WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER!
A 2021 Alex Award winner!
The 2021 RUSA Reading List: Fantasy Winner!
An Indie Next Pick!
One of Publishers Weekly's "Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2020"
One of Book Riot’s “20 Must-Read Feel-Good Fantasies”


Murder in Chianti (A Tuscan Mystery #1) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781641292856
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Soho Crime - July 6th, 2021

Set in the heart of Tuscan wine country, Camilla Trinchieri's new mystery introduces Nico Doyle, a former NYPD homicide detective who's just looking for space to grieve when he finds himself pulled into a local murder investigation.


They All Fall Down: A Thriller Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781250224613
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Forge Books - July 28th, 2020

For fans of thrilling contemporary suspense, Rachel Howzell Hall’s brilliant stand-alone novel brings seven sinners to a private island for a reckoning that will leave you breathless.

It was supposed to be the trip of a lifetime.


The Stranger Diaries Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358117865
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Mariner Books - October 1st, 2019

International Bestseller

Winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel

"This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end."
People

Death lies between the lines when the events of a dark story start coming true in this haunting modern Gothic mystery, perfect for fans of Magpie Murders and The Lake House.


Murder Once Removed (Ancestry Detective #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250252340
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - January 28th, 2020

S.C. Perkins' Murder Once Removed is the captivating first mystery in the Ancestry Detective series, in which Texas genealogist Lucy Lancaster uses her skills to solve murders in both the past and present.


Staff Pick Badge
City of Windows: A Novel (Lucas Page #1) Cover Image
$14.39
ISBN: 9781250776662
Availability: Special Order
Published: Minotaur Books - August 4th, 2020

"City of Windows is moving, breathtaking—a great entertainment." —The Wall Street Journal

“A tough, wise, knowing narrative voice, a great plot, a great setting, and even better characters — I loved this.” —Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author


A Deadly Inside Scoop (An Ice Cream Parlor Mystery #1) Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9780593099667
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - May 12th, 2020

This book kicks off a charming cozy mystery series set in an ice cream shop—with a fabulous cast of quirky characters.